David B. Gratz Scholarship

NFPA Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Scholarship Program ON HOLD

NFPA believes that timing is propitious for us to take a closer look at the overall process and to review and revamp the program in a way to make it more robust, increasing awareness and participation. We have decided to put the 2015 NFPA Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Scholarship Program ON HOLD while we evaluate. Our intent is to launch a new and improved program of support in the future. We will continue to keep you informed on the status of the program.

There will be a minimum of one scholarship per year of at least $5,000 (USD). Monies will be awarded to one or more graduate students enrolled in fire science or fire engineering programs at an institution outside of the United States.

A college or university located outside the United States or Canada shall be permitted to nominate one or two full or part-time graduate students enrolled in a fire science or fire engineering program who exhibit the following:

  1. Scholarship achievement
  2. Leadership qualities
  3. Concern for others/volunteerism
  4. Contributions to international/national fire safety activities

If nominated by his/her institution, the applicant must complete an application, and and write a letter in English to the committee addressing the qualifications noted above and stating his/her qualifications/achievements in each of these areas. Each applicant must submit in English a legible copy of his/her undergraduate and graduate academic transcripts with a letter of recommendation from a faculty member. The application, nominations, applicants' letters, recommendation, and transcripts must reach the committee no later than April 1. Scholarship awards will be announced by July 1, and distributions of funds will be made on September 1 of each year.

About Chief Gratz
The NFPA Board of Directors established an International Scholarship at its 100th Annual Meeting of the NFPA in May 1996. The Scholarship was established to recognize the international diversity of the Association membership and the world-wide development of graduate programs in Fire Science and Fire Engineering. In November 1998, the Board designated that the International Scholarship honor Chief David B. Gratz. Chief Gratz was a unique individual who had the ability to combine his professional fire service experiences with his achievements in higher education. His dedication to the promotion of fire protection throughout the world is unmatched. He possessed an enduring commitment to professional integrity, individual responsibility, educational opportunity, public service, and compassionate generosity.

Chief Gratz entered the fire service as a volunteer with the Silver Spring, MD, Fire Department in 1949. He became the first career Chief of the department in 1961 and served in that capacity until 1973 when he became the first Director of the Montgomery County, MD, Department of Fire and Rescue Services. Chief Gratz obtained Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Political Science and Public Administration from The American University in Washington, DC. He completed doctoral courses at the University of Maryland. He was instrumental in initiating the Fire Science program at Montgomery College, where he served as an adjunct professor. Chief Gratz also authored a textbook titled, Fire Department Management: Scope and Method in 1972.

Chief Gratz was a life member of the International Association of Fire Chiefs and served as its President in 1975. Chief Gratz served on the Board of Directors of the NFPA from 1972-75, and chaired the National Professional Qualifications Board. In 1977, he was named the Executive Director for International Operations for the NFPA, where he served for 22 years until his death on November 5, 1998. During his tenure at NFPA, Chief Gratz conducted training and educational seminars in 95 countries throughout Central and South America, the Middle East, Far East, and Australia.

About the Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund
Since the founding of NFPA in 1896, numerous individuals have taken up its cause of fire safety, and exemplified the spirit of volunteerism. These dedicated fire safety professionals often contributed far beyond the norm because they personally believed in the protection of people, property and the environment from the effects of fire and related hazards.

The NFPA Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund was established in 1992 following the death of John Jablonsky, chair of the Standards Council, former member of the NFPA Board of Directors, and a respected advocate for life and fire safety. Because of his longtime dedication to the NFPA and the cause of fire safety, Mr. Jablonsky was the first person in whose memory donations to the fund were made. The Memorial Fund is administered by a committee appointed by the NFPA Board of Directors.

Scholarships/Gifts for the Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund
When sufficient funds are donated in the name of an individual to be honored, the NFPA Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Committee will seek to establish an appropriate scholarship or gift that recognizes the contributions of that person.

NFPA welcomes all contributions to the Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund, whether to honor a friend or family member or to commemorate one of life's milestones. Contributions are tax-deductible. Applications, contributions, and requests for information may be sent to:

Maureen Seastrand, Staff Liaison
NFPA Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund
1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02169-7471
Tel: +1 617 984-7244
Fax: +1 617 984-7110


Richard Emberley

2013 -
Mr. Richard Emberley is a first year PhD student in the Fire Safety Engineering Program at The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia focusing on the understanding of modern structural systems exposed to fire. Richard has a Bachelors Degree in civil engineering and a Masters Degree in fire protection engineering, both from WPI. Richard has demonstrated the highest level of academic achievement and has the intellectual capacity to bring leadership to fire safety. Richard has received numerous awards from WPI and was chosen by the New England Chapter of SFPE as the AL Brown Scholarship recipient. His long-term career goal is to be involved in fire protection research and/or teach at the college level.

2012 - Thomas Lindemann, Cologne University of Applied Scieneces

2011 - Kevin Frank, University of Canterbury, Christchurch New Zealand

2010 - Jamie Stern-Gottfried, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

2009 - Yaqiang Jiang, University of Science and Technology of China

2008 - Lei Wang, China University of Mining & Technology

2007 - Daniel Nilsson, Lund University, Sweden

2006 - Roger Harrison, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

2005 - Allan Jowsey, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

2004 - Fiona Suk-chong Tsui, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong.

2003 - Cheuk-wai Leung, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong.

2002 - Anthony Pearson, University of Edinburgh, UK.

2001 – Junmei Li, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

2000 – Gigi Lui, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

1999 – Gareth Burton, University of Ulster, North Ireland

1998 – Kwong Chief Cheung, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

1997 – Tony Enright, University of Canterbury, New Zealand