Board of Directors

NFPA board members are chosen from various disciplines and backgrounds and are elected based on experience in business, finance, or administration; respect of peers; respect as a member of the safety community; commitment to the Association's goals; and appreciation for the relationship NFPA must maintain with the changing needs of society.

2014 Board of Directors

  • Chair: Ernest J. Grant, RN, MSN, PhD (C), FAAN, Outreach Nurse Clinician, North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center, UNC Hospitals, Chapel Hill, NC
  • First Vice Chair: Randolph W. Tucker, Consultant, The Woodlands, TX
  • Second Vice Chair: Keith E. Williams, President/CEO, Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Northbrook, IL
  • Secretary: Amy R. Acton, Executive Director, The Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors, Inc., Grandville, MI
  • Treasurer: William J. McCammon, Executive Director, East Bay Regional Communications System Authority, Dublin, CA
  • Immediate Past Chair: Philip C. Stittleburg, Chief, La Farge Fire Department, La Farge, WI
  • President/CEO: Jim Pauley, NFPA, Quincy, MA


  • Donald R. Cook
    Chief Electrical Inspector, Shelby County, AL
  • Kwame Cooper
    Battalion Chief, Los Angeles City Fire Department, Los Angeles, CA
  • Peter M. Holland
    Chief Fire Officer, Lancashire Fire & Rescue Service, Preston, Lancashire, UK
  • Tonya L. Hoover
    State Fire Marshal, Sacramento, CA
  • Brian J. Hurley
    Palm Beach, FL
  • Thomas A. Lawson
    Executive Vice President, FM Global, Johnston, RI
  • Russell B. Leavitt
    Executive Chairman and Board Member, Telgian Corporation, Tempe, AZ
  • Ned Pettus, Jr.
    Fire Chief, Columbus Division of Fire, Columbus, OH
  • Julie A. Rochman
    President & CEO, Institute for Business & Home Safety, Tampa, FL
  • Eric R. Rosenbaum
    Vice President, Hughes Associates, Inc. Baltimore, MD
  • Harold A. Schaitberger
    General President, IAFF, Washington, DC
  • William A. Stewart
    Toronto, ON, Canada
  • Peter J.G. Willse, P.E., FSFPE
    Vice President, Director of Research, XL GAPS, Hartford, CT

Association officers


In This Section
Bottom blue line

Free access     NEC    Sparky the Fire Dog       NFPA Conference & Expo       NFPA Journal       Sprinklers       Wildland fires      Journal Buyer's' Guide   NEC Buyers' Guide