Board of Directors

NFPA board members are chosen from various disciplines and backgrounds and are elected based on experience in business, finance, or administration; respect of peers; respect as a member of the safety community; commitment to the Association's goals; and appreciation for the relationship NFPA must maintain with the changing needs of society.

2016 Board of Directors 

Left side: (Clockwise from top) Ernest Grant, Peter Willse, Kwame Cooper, Julie Rochman, William Stewart, 
R. David Paulison, Hatem Kheir
Right side: (Clockwise from top) Jim Pauley, Keith Williams, Bruce Mullen, Michael Wallace, Donny Cook,
Stacy Welch, John Bonney, Randolph Tucker, Teresa Deloach, Tonya Hoover, Eric Rosenbaum Russell Leavitt
Missing from photo: Amy Acton, Harold Schaitberger, Dennis Berry


  • Chair: Randolph W. Tucker, Consultant, The Woodlands, TX
  • First Vice Chair: Keith E. Williams, President/CEO, Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Northbrook, IL
  • Second Vice Chair: Amy R. Acton, Executive Director, The Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors, Inc., Grandville, MI
  • Secretary: Donald R. Cook, Chief Electrical Inspector, Shelby County, AL
  • Treasurer: Thomas A. Lawson, President & Chief Executive Officer, FM Global, Johnston, RI
  • Immediate Past Chair: Ernest J. Grant, RN, MSN, PhD (C), FAAN, Outreach Nurse Clinician, North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center, UNC Hospitals, Chapel Hill, NC
  • President/CEO: Jim Pauley, NFPA, Quincy, MA


  • John Bonney
    Director, Alendi Consulting Ltd., Ropley, UK
  • Kwame Cooper
    Battalion Chief, Los Angeles City Fire Department, Los Angeles, CA
  • Tonya L. Hoover
    State Fire Marshal, Sacramento, CA
  • Hatem Kheir
    General Manager, Kheir Group, Cairo Egypt
  • Russell B. Leavitt
    Executive Chairman and Board Member, Telgian Corporation, Tempe, AZ
  • R. David Paulison
    Consultant, Global Emergency Solutions, Davie, FL
  • Teresa L. Deloach Reed
    Fire Chief, Oakland Fire Department, Oakland, CA
  • Julie A. Rochman
    President & CEO, Institute for Business & Home Safety, Tampa, FL
  • Eric R. Rosenbaum
    Vice President, Hughes Associates, Inc. Baltimore, MD
  • Harold A. Schaitberger
    General President, IAFF, Washington, DC
  • William A. Stewart
    Toronto, ON, Canada
  • Michael Wallace
    Director, Global Codes and Standards, UTC Building & Industrial Systems, Farmington, CT
  • Stacy N. Welch
    Senior Director, Fire Protection and Life Safety, Marriott International
  • Peter J.G. Willse, P.E., FSFPE
    Vice President, Director of Research, XL GAPS, Hartford, CT

Association officers


NFPA (National Fire Protection Association)
1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02169-7471 USA
Telephone: +1 617 770-3000 Fax: +1 617 770-0700