Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year

$nameLet’s celebrate fire and life safety educators! Educators are key to the success of NFPA’s programs. That’s why NFPA’s “Educator of the Year” Award is so important. It gives educators the recognition they deserve for playing the lead role in making their communities safer.

2016 application coming soon.

We are looking for fire and life safety educators who:

  • work for a local fire department.
  • use NFPA's Learn Not to Burn®, Remembering WhenTM or Fire Prevention Week materials.
  • use NFPA materials in a consistent and creative way.
  • demonstrate excellence and innovation, reaching out to the community with NFPA materials.
  • view NFPA as the source for safety information.

The "Educator of the Year" receives:

  • $1,000 honorarium
  • Travel to the NFPA annual conference for an award presentation at the general session. 

The local fire department receives:

  • $1,000 donation to support public education activities.

2015 recipient
AnnmariepickettLt. Annmarie Pickett, public education officer for the Worcester Fire Department in Worcester, Massachusetts, has been named the 2015 Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year.

Lt. Pickett is known for her steadfast commitment to bringing fire and life safety messages to as many people as possible. Under her leadership the public education division in 2014 conducted more than 700 workshops reaching 40,000 residents compared to 10 workshops reaching 161 residents in 2008, just before she joined the division.

Because of her dedication to education and awareness, she has fostered a partnership between two groups at high-risk of fire: older adults and young children. Lt. Pickett formed an intergenerational partnership between the city’s senior center and a nearby elementary school.

Either she or an instructor she designates visits each of the 37 Worcester Head Start classrooms three times a year, presenting lessons on the Learn Not to Burn (LNTB) program to more than 600 children.

Based on referrals from the fire department, she conducts follow-up visits in which older adults’ homes are evaluated based on the lessons of the Remembering When™ program.

Past recipients

  • 2014 - Samantha Hoffmann,  Baffie, ON
  • 2013 - Tracy Koslowski, Tuscon, AZ
  • 2012 - Marsha Giesler, Downers Grove, IL
  • 2011 - Maria Pelchar, Holyoke, MA
  • 2010 - Beverly Thompson, Tucker, GA
  • 2009 - Dayna Hilton, Clarksville, AR
  • 2008 - Dawn Cull, Harrisonburg, VA
  • 2007 - Vanita Krouch and Jeff Malkowski, Farmers Branch, TX
  • 2006 - Tina Dotson, Asheville, NC
  • 2005 - Tracy Sparks, Shelby, NC
  • 2004 - Amy Hein, Glenwood, IL
  • 2003 - Rae McMullen, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • 2002 - Michele Clayton, San Pedro, CA
  • 2001 - Connie Rowden, Roseville, CA
  • 2000 - Michael Jordan, Troutdale, OR

Bottom blue line

Customer Support:  Help

Codes and Standards:  Complete list   Purchase   Free Access   National Fire Code Subscription Service (NFCSS)

On the Web:  Blogs  Buyers' Guide  Electric Vehicle Safety Training  Fire Adapted Communities  Fire Prevention Week  Fire Sprinkler Initiative  Firewise    

NEC® Buyers' Guide   nec connect   Sparky the Fire Dog®

  Twitter  LinkedIn  YouTube        RSS feeds  Flickr

Home | Terms of use | Privacy policy | © National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 2015