map of FloridaThe Florida State Electrical Contractor’s Licensing Board requires Certified and Registered contractors to take 14 hours of CEUs including following topics: 

  • 7 hours technical subjects
  • 1 hour workplace safety
  • 2 hours general 
  • 1 hour business practices
  • 1 hour Florida Building Code advanced module course
  • 1 hour Florida laws & rules
  • 2 hours false alarm prevention (for all certified and registered alarm contractors and certified electrical contractors who perform alarm work).

Contractors who are engaged in alarm system contracting must take a 2-hour False Alarm Prevention course as a part of their continuing education.

License renewal is August 31, even years, and CEUs must be also completed by this date. You can renew your license on the Board website

Miami-Dade County requires 16 hours and will only allow 50% of the 16 hour CEU requirement to be fulfilled with an on-line course (8 hours maximum). Verify that the course is approved for CE credit before you register.


Disclaimer: The information contained in this webpage regarding state licensure requirements may be updated from time to time and although NFPA may attempt to keep it current, the information may be superseded at any time by new requirements. Be sure to check with your local authority. The NFPA also makes no guarantee or warranty regarding the accuracy or completeness of this information. The NFPA disclaims liability for personal injury, property and all other damages of any nature whatsoever whether special, indirect, consequential or compensatory, directly or indirectly resulting from the publication, use or reliance on the information contained on in this webpage.