The David Ball Award was created by Kidde plc in association with the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in honor of David Ball, a long time employee of Kidde, who died in July 2001. The official Ball Award presentation sword is now displayed at NFPA headquarters in Quincy, MA, NFPA has assumed responsibility for the call for nominations.

The Ball Award recognizes the significant contribution made by an individual, team, or organization either in advancing the understanding of the impact of fire on the environment, or in developing improved methods of fire control to benefit or protect the environment. Mr. Ball, an internationally acclaimed fire detection and suppression expert and enthusiastic contributor to the debate on fire and the environment, contributed to the Montreal Protocol that began the process of phasing out the use of halon.

"David Ball was a highly respected member of the fire protection industry and widely known for his contribution to environmental advances," says NFPA President Jim Shannon. "NFPA is pleased to be associated with this important award, and honored that our headquarters is its home."

Past winners

2006 - Dr. Walter Brunner, Zurich Switzerland was honored for his contribution to environmental fire protection strategies. The Ball Award was presented June 4th at the NFPA World Safety Conference & Exposition General Session. Dr. Brunner was also the recipient of the US Environmental Stratospheric Ozone Award.

2003 - The Colorado Springs Fire Department Wildland Risk Management Office, chosen for its work in reducing the risk of wildfires in its area.

2002 - The first annual Ball Award was presented to Gary Taylor of Innisfil, Ontario, Canada, for his contribution to the international fire protection community, specifically for his work as chair of the NFPA Standards Council, as a member on several NFPA Technical Committees, as well as his support and chairmanship of the UNEP Halon Technical Options Committee. Individuals, organizations, and companies from the U.S., Canada, India, Poland, and Russia were nominated for both the 2003 and 2002 awards.

Bottom blue line

Customer Support:  Help

Codes and Standards:  Complete list   Purchase   Free Access   National Fire Code Subscription Service (NFCSS)

On the Web:  Blogs  Buyers' Guide  Electric Vehicle Safety Training  Fire Adapted Communities  Fire Prevention Week  Fire Sprinkler Initiative  Firewise    

NEC® Buyers' Guide   nec connect   Sparky the Fire Dog®

  Twitter  LinkedIn  YouTube        RSS feeds  Flickr

Home | Terms of use | Privacy policy | © National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 2016