Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year

Educator of the YearLet’s celebrate fire and life safety educators! Educators are key to the success of NFPA’s programs. That’s why NFPA’s “Educator of the Year” Award is so important. It gives educators the recognition they deserve for playing the lead role in making their communities safer.

2016 application coming soon.

We are looking for fire and life safety educators who:

  • work for a local fire department.
  • use NFPA's Learn Not to Burn®, Remembering WhenTM or Fire Prevention Week materials.
  • use NFPA materials in a consistent and creative way.
  • demonstrate excellence and innovation, reaching out to the community with NFPA materials.
  • view NFPA as the source for safety information.

The "Educator of the Year" receives:

  • $1,000 honorarium
  • Travel to the NFPA annual conference for an award presentation at the general session. 

The local fire department receives:

  • $1,000 donation to support public education activities.

2014 recipient
Samantha HoffmanSamantha Hoffmann, public fire and life safety officer for Barrie Fire and Emergency Service, Barrie, Ontario, has been named the 2014 Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year.

Hoffmann has been using NFPA educational materials since 1989. She began her fire safety career as the Fire Marshal and Emergency Planning Coordinator for the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, introducing the Learn Not to Burn program to the young patients.

More recently, after joining Barrie Fire and Emergency Service she took Learn Not to Burn to new heights through a partnership she developed with the TVO Kids television program, seen by thousands of children every day. Hoffmann is a frequent guest and helps create programming. She launched the "Push the Button" campaign to encourage children and their parents to test their smoke alarms and has helped develop videos and online safety games. Hoffmann reaches out to older adults through an acting troupe, using Remembering When messaging to deliver fire safety in a fun atmosphere.

Her fire chief says her passion for public education comes from a genuine love of people and a desire to help.

Past recipients

  • 2013 - Tracy Koslowski, Tuscon, AZ
  • 2012 - Marsha Giesler, Downers Grove, IL
  • 2011 - Maria Pelchar, Holyoke, MA
  • 2010 - Beverly Thompson, Tucker, GA
  • 2009 - Dayna Hilton, Clarksville, AR
  • 2008 - Dawn Cull, Harrisonburg, VA
  • 2007 - Vanita Krouch and Jeff Malkowski, Farmers Branch, TX
  • 2006 - Tina Dotson, Asheville, NC
  • 2005 - Tracy Sparks, Shelby, NC
  • 2004 - Amy Hein, Glenwood, IL
  • 2003 - Rae McMullen, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • 2002 - Michele Clayton, San Pedro, CA
  • 2001 - Connie Rowden, Roseville, CA
  • 2000 - Michael Jordan, Troutdale, OR