Rolf H. Jensen Memorial Public Education Grant

Contact us
For more information contact Lisa Braxton.

Funded by The RJA Group, Inc.

The Rolf H. Jensen Memorial Public Education Grant is presented annually to a local fire department to support a fire and life safety education community-wide program or campaign.

Download the application (PDF, 339 KB). Deadline February 5, 2016

The Rolf H. Jensen Memorial Public Education Grant provides a $5,000 grant to one local fire department to support a community-wide fire and life safety education program or campaign. Funded by the RJA Group, now Jensen Hughes, the grant is open to any fire department (career or volunteer) located in the United States or Canada.

Recipients must meet the following:

  • Demonstration of a plan to implement a community-wide fire and life safety program/campaign.
  • Clearly stated goals and objectives.
  • Staffing assigned to implement the program/campaign.
  • A 1-page final report, including an overview of the project, number of people reached, media coverage, life saves, etc., must be received at NFPA by the end of the year.


  • $5,000 to support the implementation and evaluation of the fire and life safety education program/campaign.
  • Commemorative plaque.
  • Recipient’s name inscribed on the Rolf H. Jensen Memorial Public Education Grant winners’ plaque displayed at NFPA headquarters.

Rolf H. Jensen, P.E.
Rolf H. Jensen, P.E.

Rolf H. Jensen, P.E., was a leading authority on fire protection engineering and participated and supported the NFPA consensus standards process throughout his distinguished career. A former teacher, Mr. Jensen was a staunch proponent of fire and life safety education. On the 25th anniversary of the RJA Group, Inc., the founder and Chairman of the Board was honored by his colleagues by establishing an NFPA award in Rolf Jensen's name.

Mr. Jensen dedicated his life to advancing the art and science of fire protection. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Fire Protection and Safety Engineering at the Illinois Institute of Technology. He began his career as an engineer and researcher at Underwriters Laboratories. Mr. Jensen had an extensive association with NFPA, having served on the board of directors, Standards Council, and on more than a dozen technical committees. In 1988, NFPA's Standards Council awarded Mr. Jensen the Standards Medal; the highest award bestowed by the Council for contributions in the development of NFPA's codes and standards. He died in 2002, leaving a legacy in the fire protection field.

2015 recipient


North Shore Fire Department Battalion Chief John Maydak (left)
and Chief Robert Whitaker

The North Shore Fire Department of Wisconsin is the winner of the 2015 Rolf H. Jensen Memorial Public Education Grant. The grant will support the continuation of the department’s “Prevent, Prepare, and React” home assessment and smoke alarm installation campaign.

A risk analysis of the seven communities the North Shore Fire Department serves showed that the percentage of adults 65 and over was above the national average. In 2014, NFPA awarded the fire department and local health department training through the Remembering When Conference to administer fire and fall prevention education to older adults. Since then the team has presented Remembering When™ to more than 300 residents and conducted 28 home assessments. Data compiled during the assessments showed that none of the homes had properly fitted smoke alarms.

North Shore received a grant from Wal-Mart to purchase 100 10-year smoke alarms. Most have been installed. The Rolf Jensen Grant will assist the department in conducting an additional 125 home assessments and purchasing close to 300 smoke alarms. North Shore Fire Department year-end report (PDF, 327 KB).

2014 - Chambersburg, PA, Chambersburg Fire Department

2013 - Springfield, MA, Springfield Fire Department

2012 - Brockton, MA, Brockton Fire Department

2011 - College Station, TX, College Station Fire Department

2010 - Grand Traverse, MI, Metro Fire Department

2009 - Montgomery County, MD, Fire and Rescue Service

2008 - Sacramento, CA, Metropolitan Fire District

2007 - North Charleston, SC, Fire Department

2006 - Tuscaloosa, AL, Fire & Rescue Service

2005 - Rochester, NY, Fire Department

2004 - Suffolk, VA, Department of Fire & Rescue

2003 - Lacey Fire District Three and the Lacey Sunsetters Kiwanis Club of Lacey, WA

2002 - Snohomish County (WA) Fire District #8 and the privately-operated Sunnyside Preschool in Lake Stevens, WA

2001 - Glenwood, IL, Fire Department and Rhodia Chemical Heights Plant

1999 - Redlands Fire Department and Loma Linda University Children’s Hospital, CA

1998 - Winnipeg Fire Department and Kiwanis Club of Winnipeg

1997 - Rochester, NY, Fire Department, National Fire Service Support Systems, Inc., and BIC Corporation

1996 - Oregon Fire Education Association, and National Association of Insurance Women, Oregon Chapter

1995 - Saint Paul Fire Department and American Red Cross, St. Paul Area Chapter

1994 - Canadian Tire Child Prevention Foundation and Fire Prevention Canada.

Bottom blue line

Customer Support:  Help

Codes and Standards:  Complete list   Purchase   Free Access   National Fire Code Subscription Service (NFCSS)

On the Web:  Blogs  Buyers' Guide  Electric Vehicle Safety Training  Fire Adapted Communities  Fire Prevention Week  Fire Sprinkler Initiative  Firewise    

NEC® Buyers' Guide   nec connect   Sparky the Fire Dog®

  Twitter  LinkedIn  YouTube        RSS feeds  Flickr

Home | Terms of use | Privacy policy | © National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 2016