Open navigation

NFPA Board of Directors

NFPA board members are chosen from various disciplines and backgrounds and are elected based on experience in business, finance, or administration; respect of peers; respect as a member of the safety community; commitment to the Association's goals; and appreciation for the relationship NFPA must maintain with the changing needs of society.

NFPA Board of Directors - 2018 
Left side: (Front row) – Eric Rosenbaum, Jeffery Cash; (Second row) – R. David Paulison, Teresa Deloach Reed, James Sullivan;
(Third row) – Roger Montembeault, Reginald Freeman, Louis Paulson; (Fourth row) – William Fries
Right side: (Front row) – Jim Pauley, Russell Leavitt, Stacy Welch; (Second row) – Keith Williams, Tonya Hoover, Bruce Mullen;
(Third row) – Amy Acton, Brion Callori, Kwame Cooper|; (Fourth row) – Donald Cook, Sally Everett, Hatem Kheir



Keith E. Williams, President/CEO, Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Northbrook, Illinois

First Vice Chair
Amy R. Acton, Executive Director, The Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors, Inc., Grand Rapids, Michigan
Second Vice Chair

Russell B. Leavitt, Executive Chairman, Telgian Corporation, Tempe, Arizona

Donald R. Cook, Chief Electrical Inspector, Shelby County Department of Development Services, Pelham, Alabama

Roger W. MontembeaultOwner/Consultant, The Montembeault Group, Inc., Tampa, Florida

Assistant Treasurer
Kwame Cooper, Assistant Chief, Los Angeles Fire Department, Los Angeles, California  
Jim Pauley, NFPA, Quincy, Massachusetts


Term expires 2020
  • Jeffery C. Cash, Fire Chief/Emergency Manager, City of Cherryville Fire Department, Cherryville, North Carolina
  • Eric R. Rosenbaum, Senior Vice President, Specialty Services, Jensen Hughes, Baltimore, Maryland
  • James Sullivan, President, Westford, Massachusetts
Term expires 2021
  • John Bonney, Owner/Consultant, Alendi Consulting Ltd., Ropley, United Kingdom
  • Brion Callori, Vice President of Engineering and Research, FM Global, Johnston, Rhode Island
  • Martha Connors, Digital Media and Marketing Consultant, Newton, Massachusetts
  • Reginald D. Freeman, Fire Chief/Director of Emergency Management, Hartford Fire Department, Hartford, Connecticut
  • William J. Fries, Supervising Fire Protection Engineer; Pentagon Fire Marshal; Deputy Director of the Standards and Compliance Division, Department of Defense, Washington, D.C.
  • R. David Paulison, Owner/Consultant, Global Emergency Solutions, Davie, Florida
  • Louis Paulson, Former California Professional Firefighters President, Walnut Creek, California
  • Michael Wallace, Executive Director, UTC Climate, Controls & Security, Jupiter, Florida
Term expires 2022
  • Hatem Kheir, Owner/General Manager, Kheir Group, Cairo, Egypt

  • Teresa L. Deloach Reed, Oakland Fire Department (retired), Oakland, California

  • Stacy N. Welch, Vice President, Fire Protection & Life Safety, Marriott International, Bethesda, Maryland

  • Patrick J. Morrison, Assistant to the General President for Occupational Health, Safety and Medicine, International Association of Fire Fighters, Washington, D.C.

Association officers

  • Executive Vice President: Bruce Mullen, NFPA Quincy, Massachusetts
  • Assistant Secretary: Sally Everett, NFPA, Quincy, Massachusetts
  • Chief Financial Officer: Paul DeFronzo, NFPA, Quincy, Massachusetts
  • Stacy N. Welch
    Senior Director, Fire Protection and Life Safety, Marriott International
  • Stacy N. Welch
    Senior Director, Fire Protection and Life Safety, Marriott International
In This Section