NFPA Board Committees

Audit Committee 

Chair: Stacy Welch
Committee members: Raj Arora, William Fries, Reginald Freeman, Michael Wallace, Paul DeFronzo (staff liaison)
Scope: Recommend annually to the Board of Directors the appointment of the external auditor for the Association; consult with the external auditor on the planned scope of the audit; review the external audit report (including the management letter and management responses) in consultation with the external auditor, President, and Chief Financial Officer and report to the Board; review the internal audit reports in consultation with the external auditor; provide direct channels of communication to the Board for the external auditor, responsible internal audit staff, and other designated officers; initiate special audits when appropriate; report at least annually to the Board; review the external audit report of the NFPA-related foundations with the external auditor and report to their respective Boards and the NFPA Board.  

Awards Selection Committee

Chair: Amy Acton
Committee Members: Reginald Freeman, Patrick Morrison, Denis Onieal, Jim Pauley, Lorraine Carli
Scope: Administration of the Awards given by the Board of Directors of the NFPA including: (i) The Paul C. Lamb Award, which is the highest award given by the NFPA for volunteer service; (ii) the James M. Shannon which recognizes those who have significantly and positively advanced NFPA’s mission; (iii) the Distinguished Service Award which recognizes specific outstanding accomplishments of individuals rending service to NFPA and to the cause of fire safety; and (iv) other awards and honors as may be identified from time to time by the Board of Directors.

Compensation Committee

Chair: Roger Montembeault
Committee members: Amy Acton, Brion Callori, Donald Cook, Russell Leavitt, Jim Pauley (Ex-officio without vote), Sally Everett (staff liaison)
Scope: Review annually and recommend to the Board of Directors the compensation for the President of the Association; review annually, in conjunction with the President, and recommend to the Board of Directors the establishment of the salary ranges and incentive compensation for the Senior Vice President and Officers of the Association; review annually the salary administration for the Association; report at least annually to the Board. Take such other action as may be assigned to it by the Board or as set forth in the Compensation Committee Procedures for setting compensation.

Corporate Development Committee

Chair: Michael Wallace
Committee members:  Amy Acton, Raj Arora, John Bonney, Russell Leavitt, Roger Montembeault, Jim Pauley, Stacy Welch, Keith Williams, Sally Everett (staff liaison)
To assist the Board in two areas of activity: (1) overseeing the use of funds allocated by the Finance Committee for internal strategic projects and investment; and (2) assisting management in the review and evaluation of certain third-party Transactions.

Executive Committee

Chair: Amy Acton
Committee members:  John Bonney, Russell Leavitt, Roger Montembeault, R. David Paulison, Jim Pauley, Lou Paulson, Keith Williams, Sally Everett (staff liaison)
Scope: Authority pursuant to 5.10 of the Bylaws to act on behalf of the Board of Directors between meetings of the Board. The Executive Committee is required to distribute its minutes in a timely fashion and make a report of its interim activities at the next meeting of the Board. At the Board meeting following each Annual Meeting, the Executive Committee submits a report to the Board on the recommended size and composition of the Board for review, modification, and transmittal to the Nominating Committee.  

Finance Committee

Chair: Roger Montembeault
Committee members: Kwame Cooper, Russell Leavitt, Patrick Morrison, Jim Pauley, R. David Paulison, Michael Wallace, Keith Williams, Paul DeFronzo (staff liaison)
Scope: General supervision of the financial affairs of the Association subject to the approval of the Board of Directors (see Bylaws 5.11). Review annual operating, capital, and cash flow budgets of all NFPA activities and recommend them to the Board for approval. Annually recommend dollar limits to the Board for capital expenditures and debt financing. Receive and review information regarding the budgets of NFPA-related foundations. Develop, review, and evaluate investment policy for NFPA funds and reserves, subject to review with the Board. 

Governance and Nominating Committee

Chair: Lou Paulson
Committee members: John Bonney, Donald Cook, Teresa Deloach Reed, Denis Onieal, Jim Pauley, Keith Williams, Sally Everett (staff liaison)
Scope: Recommend a Code of Ethics for Directors for approval by the Board; review questions concerning the ethical conduct of Board members and report to the Board; review proposed amendments to Bylaws and Regulations of the Association and all Constitutions, Bylaws, and procedures of sections and recommend action to the Board of Directors; recommend Standing Rules, which should be affirmed, modified, or rescinded prior to automatic five-year rescission; review operating procedures prepared by Board Committees for approval by the full Board; report at least annually to the Board. 

Pension and Retirement Committee

Chair: Brian Callori
Committee members: Amy Acton, Paul DeFronzo, Teresa Deloach Reed, Benjamin Evarts, Jim Pauley, Keith Williams, Paul DeFronzo (staff liaison)
Scope: Review the employee pension plan and make recommendations to the Board regarding contributions to and other policies for maintenance of an appropriate pension plan for NFPA employees within the requirements of the Employee Retirement and Security Act and other applicable law; to appoint the committee responsible for the administration of the NFPA Employees’ Retirement Plan as more fully set forth in Article 7 of the National Fire Protection Association Employees’ Retirement Plan as amended and restated January 1, 1998, or as may be further amended from time to time; to report at least annually to the Board of Directors.