Open navigation

The NFPA Fire & Life Safety Ecosystem

When it comes to fire prevention and protection, safety is not something we can take for granted. NFPA believes that a fully functioning safety ecosystem is made up of eight key elements that play critical roles in fire, life and electrical safety. When these elements work together, we see a positive influence on safety best practices. When one of the components fails, the system breaks down and tragedies result.

NFPA is committed to promoting the safety ecosystem to protect people and property against evolving safety threats, and wants to work with others who are part of this critical system.

NFPA ecosystem logo 


Fire & Life Safety Ecosystem Individual elements or “cogs”

Learn more about each component and the roles necessary to help maintain and promote a system to protect people and property against evolving safety threats. 

 Government responsibility cog
 Development and use of current codes cog
 Reference standards cog
 Investment in safety cog
Maintaining an effective policy and regulatory environment, supporting fire, electrical, building, and life safety. 
Using the latest codes and standards developed by experts from across the world. 
Applying all standards referenced (PDF) within the primary fire, life safety, building and electrical codes and standards. Prioritizing safety across the board.
 Skilled workforce cog  Code compliance cog  Preparedness and emergency response cog  Informed public cog
Promoting the development of skilled professionals to apply the codes and standards. Supporting effective code enforcement. Providing effective preparedness and response capabilities to deal with fire, electrical, and related hazards. Educating the public about the dangers posed by fire, electrical, and related hazards.