NFPA recognizes individuals for accomplishments in fire and life safety with awards presented

Published on June 7, 2010
June 7, 2010 – The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) presented three awards that recognize achievements in fire and life safety today at the 2010 NFPA Conference & Expo.

The recipient of this year’s Standards Medal is the late George Flach. This award is given out in recognition of outstanding contributions to fire safety and the development of codes and standards. It is the highest award given by the Standards Council.

Flach, formerly of Jefferson, La., was honored with this award for his commitment and contributions to the NEC®. Flach served on several NEC Panels, including NEC Panel 22 in 1976 as the chair, NEC Panel 10 from 1973 to 1976 as the vice chair, NEC Panel 15 from 1981 to 2002 and as chair from 1981 to 1984, and NEC Panel 13 from 2002 to 2007. In 1992, he was awarded with the Committee Service Award. Flach was the chief electrical inspector for the city of New Orleans, La., and was also heavily involved in the International Association of Electrical Inspectors (IAEI).

The winner of the 2009 Industrial Fire Protection Section Fire Prevention Week Award is Duke University/Duke Health System Fire Safety Division. This award was created to recognize businesses that promote fire and related safety messages for employees and their communities during Fire Prevention Week of the previous calendar year.

Duke University/Duke Health System Fire Safety Division, in Durham, N.C., was named the winner of the 2009 Industrial Fire Protection Section Fire Prevention Week Program of the Year for carrying out the best program to coincide with NFPA’s 2009 Fire Prevention Week theme, “Stay Fire Smart, Don’t Get Burned.” The division reached out to the students at Duke University by providing fire safety literature, conducting fire drills in every resident hall dorm on the campus, displaying messages on Duke TV and on the web, and by producing Fire Prevention Week vehicle magnets, which were displayed on department vehicles traveling all over North Carolina doing Joint Commission Mock Inspections. Duke also made an effort to reach out to patients in Duke Hospital that were away from their homes. The division worked to ensure that patients leaving the hospital and returning home were provided the essential knowledge to enable them to return home and maintain a fire-safe environment, something that is not always easy as patients often leave in a conditions that is drastically different from when they arrived.

The recipients of the 2010 Harry C. Bigglestone Award for Excellence in Communication of Fire Protection Concepts are Paul Mason, Charles Fleischmann, Chris Rogers, Alan McKinnon, Keith Unsworth and Michael Spearpoint for their paper, “Estimating Thermal Radiation Fields from 3D Flame Reconstruction.”

The Harry C. Bigglestone award is presented annually, along with a $5,000 cash prize, to the authors of the most outstanding paper submitted to Fire Technology during the previous calendar year, as voted by the International Editorial Board. This award is named after the late Harry C. Bigglestone, a trustee of the Fire Protection Research Foundation and a fellow and president of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers. This is the 25th anniversary of the Bigglestone Award.

NFPA has been a worldwide leader in providing fire, electrical, building, and life safety to the public since 1896. The mission of the international nonprofit organization is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.

RSS Subscribe to NFPA RSS News feeds

Contact: Lorraine Carli, Public Affairs Office: +1 617 984-7275