NFPA reelects officers and elects new members to the board of directors

Published on June 7, 2010
June 7, 2010 – The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) announced the re-election of officers, the election of new officers, and the election of new members to the board of directors today at the 2010 Conference & Expo in Las Vegas.

Thomas W. Jaeger of Great Falls, Va., has been elected as the chair, moving from his former position as first vice chair. Jaeger is currently the president of Jaeger & Associates, LLC, a consulting fire protection engineering firm. He has served as a member and chairman of several NFPA technical committees and served on the Standards Council from 1980 to 1989.

Philip C. Stittleburg of La Farge, Wis., has been elected as the first vice chair. His former position was as the second vice chair. Stittleburg has served as the fire chief in La Farge, Wis. since 1977, and in 1998, he was awarded Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year by Fire Chief Magazine. Stittleburg, a practicing attorney, is also a partner in the law firm of Jenkins and Stittleburg.

Ernest J. Grant of Chapel Hill, N.C., has been elected as the second vice chair. He is currently a member of the board of directors. Grant is an outreach nurse clinician with the North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center UNC Hospitals, a position he has held for over 22 years. He is also the current president elect of the North Carolina Nurses Association (American Nurses Association).

H. Wayne Boyd, the president and CEO of the U.S. Safety & Engineering Corporation in Sacramento, Calif., has been re-elected as secretary.

Vincent J. Bollon of Washington, D.C., has been re-elected as treasurer. He was a New York City firefighter for 30 years and is immediate past chair of the International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) pension trust fund.

The newly elected positions will take effect at the close of the opening general session.

The new members of the board are: Dean L. Seavers of Pinecrest, Fla.; Donald R. Cook of Shelby County, Ala.; and Ned Pettus, Jr. of Gahanna, Ohio.

Seavers is currently the president, global services of UTC Fire & Security. He has been in the security and life safety industry for ten years, with previous experience as the president of SimplexGrinnell and senior vice president, operations for ADT Security Services. Seavers received his MBA from Stanford University.

Cook is the chief electrical inspector for Shelby County, Ala. Building Inspections. He has served as the president of the Alabama Chapter of the International Association of Electrical Inspectors (IAEI) and is currently on the IAEI board of directors. He has also served on several NFPA committees, including NEC Panel 10, of which he is the current chairman and the principle IAEI representative.

Pettus has 33 years of experience with the Columbus Division of Fire, where he rose through the ranks to his current position as fire chief of Columbus, Ohio. In 2009, he received the Metropolitan Fire Chief of the Year award from the Metropolitan Fire Chiefs Association. Pettus earned a Master of Science Administration (MSA) from Central Michigan University and was awarded a certificate of completion for the Senior Executives in State and Local Government program at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government.

NFPA has been a worldwide leader in providing fire, electrical, building, and life safety to the public since 1896. The mission of the international nonprofit organization is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.

Contact: Lorraine Carli, Public Affairs Office: +1 617 984-7275