James M. Shannon Award

REMINDER: Nominations for 2021 James M. Shannon Advocacy Medal Open until January 29

NFPA will be accepting nominations for the 2021 James M. Shannon Advocacy Medal until January 29, 2021. This prestigious award recognizes fire and life safety advocates who have dedicated themselves to reducing loss from fire, electrical, and other hazards by honoring those who have promoted cost-effective efforts while working to further NFPA’s mission. It is named after former NFPA President James M. Shannon, who served in the position for 12 years, departing in June 2014 with a remarkable record of advocacy to reduce fire loss.

One of Shannon’s biggest initiatives was the Coalition for Fire-Safe Cigarettes, which pushed states to pass legislation requiring cigarettes to meet a minimum fire safety standard. Shannon also strongly advocated for the increased installation of fire sprinklers in new one- and two-family houses to both enhance public safety and protect members of the fire service.

NFPA considers nominees who are members of the fire service or any individual or group whose advocacy efforts meet the award’s criteria. The recipient will be announced later this year. A list of past recipients is available here. The nominee application can be downloaded and sent to publicaffairs@nfpa.org.


Sign up for the NFPA Network Newsletter
Kyle Etter
Kyle Etter
Public Affairs Intern

Related Articles