Published on July 1, 2016.

Envelope, Please...

A selection of awards presented at the annual conference in Las Vegas in June

The oxygen consumption calorimetry was the technical achievement chosen to receive the second annual DiNenno Prize. The device, now a foundation of modern quantitative fire protection engineering, is used to determine the heat release rate of a fire by measuring the rate at which oxygen is consumed. Dr. William Parker (above, center) accepted the prize and the accompanying $50,000 monetary reward for developing the device when he was employed at the National Bureau of Standards (now the National Institute of Standards and Technology). The prize, named for Philip J. DiNenno, the former CEO of Hughes Associates, recognizes innovations that have had a significant impact on public safety.

The second annual James M. Shannon Advocacy Medal, named after NFPA’s former president, was awarded to retired Massachusetts State Fire Marshal Stephen D. Coan. The state’s longest-serving fire marshal, Coan was previously the director of the Massachusetts Firefighting Academy and has been a vocal advocate for effective fire prevention codes, enforcement, and community outreach.

Henrik Bjelland, Ove Njå, Atle William Heskestad, and Geir Sverre Braut, all of Norway, were the 2016 winners of the Harry C. Bigglestone Award and its $5,000 cash prize for submitting the most outstanding paper to the journal Fire Technology during the previous calendar year as determined by the International Editorial Board. Their paper, entitled “The Concepts of Safety Level and Safety Margin: Framework for Fire Safety Design of Novel Buildings,” argues that increasingly complex construction in modern buildings and infrastructure has limited the effectiveness of traditional fire safety science based on natural science principles.

The Fire Protection Research Foundation Medal, recognizing a 2015 project that best expressed the Foundation’s safety mission, was awarded to “Pathways for Building Fire Spread at the Wildland/Urban Interface.” The report describes fire spread at the wildland/urban interface, and identifies information gaps that impact prevention and protection strategies. The report was authored by project authors, sponsors, and a technical panel, and led by Michael Gollner and his research team at the University of Maryland.

Richard E. Loyd, past chairman of the electrical section of NFPA, was this year’s recipient of the NFPA Standards Medal, which recognizes outstanding contributions to fire safety and the development of NFPA codes and standards. Loyd, a master electrician, is a longtime advocate for and contributor to the National Electrical Code® (NEC®), and has traveled to all 50 states at least six times to teach the NEC.

Siemens Building Technology won the Industrial Fire Protection Section Fire Prevention Week Award for its work during the 2015 Fire Prevention Week. Siemens set up displays about fire safety in every building on its Buffalo Grove, Illinois, campus, including handouts of NFPA publications. The FPW message was broadcast over an internal TV network.

Top Photograph: Ambience Photography