Building code groups

Published on August 11, 2004

Association Française de Normalisation (AFNOR)
AFNOR publishes the French standards or Normes Francaises, including the Code de la Construction et de l'Habitation.

American Society for Heating, Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
ASHRAE is an advisor to persons appointed to represent the United States in the development of international heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration, and solar energy standards. In this activity, ASHRAE is the Administrator designated by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) to oversee three U.S. Technical Advisory Committees on refrigeration and air conditioning, solar energy, and building environment design. ASHRAE 90.1: Energy Efficient Design of New Buildings except Low-rise Residential Buildings and ASHRAE 90.2: Energy Efficient Design for Low-rise Residential Buildings are being incorporated into the Comprehensive Consensus Codes (C3) set through NFPA 900, Building Energy Code.

Australian Building Code Board (ABCB)
The ABCB was established 1994 to develop the performance-based Building Code of Australia (BCA) on behalf of the Commonwealth, State and Territorial governments. It works with Standards Australia, a standards making body, to enhance consistency between the BCA and the Australian Standards referenced in the ABC.

Building Officials and Code Administrators International (BOCA)
Founded in 1915, BOCA is a nonprofit organization that has published codes, including the BOCA National Building Code (also known as the BOCA Basic National Building Code and the Basic Building Code) from 1950 to 1999. BOCA codes are superceded by the International Code Council (ICC) codes. BOCA merged into the ICC effective February 2003.

Building Regulations (United Kingdom)
Building Regulations for England, Wales, and Scotland that can be purchased through Her Majesty's Stationery Office.

Dansk Standard = Danish Standards Association
The Danish Standards Association is Denmark's national standardization body. It develops codes of practice for the structural use of aluminum, composite structures, concrete, masonry, steel, and timber and other documents relating to building construction.

European Committee for Standardization (CEN)
CEN Technical Committee 250: Structural Eurocodes was established in 1990 to develop the Eurocodes, common structural rules for the design of buildings and civil engineering structures. They are issued first as 62 European Prestandards numbered ENV and then as European Standards numbered EN. Other CEN technical committees on construction may be of interest.

International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO)
Founded in 1926, IAPMO sponsors and maintains the Uniform Plumbing Code, produced since 1945, and sponsors the Uniform Mechanical Code. Beginning with the 2003 edition, the Uniform Plumbing Code™ and Uniform Mechanical Code™ are a part of the first fully integrated, ANSI-accredited, consensus-based code set known as the Comprehensive Consensus Codes(C3).

International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO)
Founded in 1922 as the Pacific Coast Building Officials Conference, ICBO has published the Uniform Building Code (between 1927 and 1997) and other related documents. ICBO codes have been superceded by the International Code Council (ICC) codes. ICBO has merged into the ICC effective February 2003.

International Code Council (ICC)
ICC was established in 1994 as a nonprofit organization to develop a set of model construction codes that encompass the codes developed by its founding organizations, Building Officials and Code Administrators International (BOCA), the International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO), and the Southern Building Code Congress International (SBCCI). Among the ICC set is the International Building Code.

National Building Code of Canada
The NBC applies to the construction of buildings, including extensions, substantial alterations, buildings undergoing a change of occupancy, and upgrading of buildings to remove an unacceptable hazard. It is prepared by the Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes and is published by the National Research Council of Canada.

National Fire Protection Association
Founded in 1896, NFPA is a producer of codes and standards relating to life and building safety, including NFPA 5000™, Building Construction and Safety Code, and NFPA 70, National Electrical Code®. NFPA codes and standards are developed through a consensus-based process that is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). NFPA 5000, NFPA 70, and other NFPA codes are a part of the Comprehensive Consensus Codes(C3) set.

Plumbing, Heating, Cooling Contractors Association (PHCCA)
PHCCA is the secretariat and publisher of the National Standards Plumbing Code developed through a consensus-based process with oversight provided by the National Standard Plumbing Code Committee since 1970.

Southern Building Code Congress International (SBCCI)
Founded in 1940, SBCCI was formed to develop and maintain a set of model building codes known as the Standard Building Codes©. Since 2000, the SBCCI code has been superceded by the International Code Council (ICC) codes. SBCCI merged into the ICC effective February 2003.

SNIP: Russian National Standards
Available online for free in English is the 1998 Russian National Fire Safety Code Over 200 building codes are administered by the State Committee for Construction (Gosstroy).

Western Fire Chiefs Association (WFCA)
A division of the International Association of Fire Chiefs, WFCA is a Comprehensive Consensus Codes(C3) partner. WFCA educates fire service personnel in 10 western states (Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington) about national issues including building code developments.